Academy Insight: Understanding physical development in youth football

Tuesday August 11th 4.00pm PDT / 7.00pm EDT / 9.00pm BST // Wednesday August 12th 6.00am AEST / 8.00pm NZT

In this our latest live webinar event, PDP Technical Advisor, Dan Wright will host two top youth development experts from Nottingham Forest FC, Tom Mallinson and Lewis Bramley.

Tom is a Professional Development Phase coach working primarily with the U18 players. Lewis is the Lead U9-16 Strength & Conditioning Coach for the Academy.

Dan will host a discussion that dives into a number of issues that challenge youth players through the Youth Development to Professional Development phase. This conversation will cover:

  • The support team the club puts around the player
  • Physical challenges in youth development
  • Growth and maturation
  • Relative age effect
  • Work on the grass and in the gym
  • Blending football and strength and conditioning in sessions

This will be a must watch for coaches wanting to support their players physical development and better understand how professional academies integrate conditioning whilst managing the challenges of growth and maturation.

Our Presenters

Dan Wright

Dan Wright

Dan Wright is an academy coach at a Premier League club. He holds the UEFA A Licence and the FA Advanced Youth Award and has extensive coaching experience working in high-performance environments in the UK and Africa. Dan is Technical Advisor at PDP and host of the On The Grass Podcast series.

Tom Mallinson

Tom Mallinson

Tom is a UEFA A Licensed Coach and the Professional Development Phase Coach at Nottingham Forest FC.

Lewis Bramley

Lewis Bramley

Lewis is the Lead U9-16 Strength & Conditioning Coach for Nottingham Forest FC.